Bikes in The Netherlands: LOTS!!!

Before we came to Amsterdam, I’d heard that the Dutch like their bicycles, but I had NO IDEA just how much! We saw far more bikes than cars. About the size of Boston, Amsterdam gets 350,000 bike commuters DAILY.

It’s no surprise once you consider their infrastructure: cyclists get their own road system, almost totally separate from car roads. Where America puts four lanes for mixed cars & bikes, the Dutch put two car lanes, two bike lanes and room for trains & pedestrians too. Plus it’s flat everywhere: easy peasy!

Most folks skip helmets and bike clothes. Even children ride in their parents’ bikes:

A specialty bike to carry some kids or some cargo. The pink color of the bricks shows that this is a bike road.
Lots of variety!
No helmets!
A typical one-way bike lane. Another one on the other side of the street. Pedestrians beware: take a wrong step and you’ll apt to get hit by a bike!
A bike parking lot: they’re common.
Zillions of parked bikes at the train station in tiny Leiden. Notice they’re stacked in two stories to pack twice as many in.

Published by Greg

This is my favorite place to share pictures and content widely, a small group of blogs shared via social media apps. Servers Rock started out as a tribute to the hard work and excellent service offered by underpaid and underrated restaurant employees I met in person. It quickly grew into much more: my personal place to offer authentic commentary based on on my personal interactions with facilities and their frontline staff. Since then I’ve started added additional commentary, while stick big strictly with my my model: I comment solely on places I attend personally and only offer comments when they’re warranted. Unless I keep this project real that way, it would lose all meaning. I plan to include other blogs in this group over time.

Leave a comment